We’re proud to be in our third year of the Stories Matter Foundation Masters Award. This award recognizes and spotlights talented creative writing graduate students in the Chicago area.

2019 recipients
Jeremiah Barker (Northwestern University)
Christopher Flynn (DePaul University)
Laura Jok (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Juliana Ravelli (Columbia College Chicago)
Jameka Williams (Northwestern University MFA)
2020 recipients
Min Li Chan (Northwestern University)
Caroline Macon Fleischer (DePaul University)
Adam Rensch (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Deima Thompson (Columbia College Chicago)
Katherine Williams (Northwestern University MFA)
2021 recipients
Abby Vakulskas (DePaul)
Please join us on Sunday, May 23, 7:00pm on StoryStudio Chicago’s Zoom for an Awards Ceremony & Reading hosted by Artistic Director Rebecca Makkai.
This event is free and open to the public!

2019 Recipients with Rebecca Makkai

2020 Recipients during Virtual Awards Ceremony